Change Font Size:

Board Membership

Board Make Up

The Board consists of seven members appointed by the governor:

  • One physician recommended by the North Dakota pathology organization;
  • One administrative nonphysician clinical laboratory director;
  • One clinical laboratory scientist;
  • One clinical laboratory technician;
  • Two consumer members;
  • The state health officer or such officer's designee, ex officio.

Members serve three-year terms.  There are no term limits.

Current Members

James Breen, Chair/ CE Committee Chair

Fargo, ND

Non-physician Laboratory Director

3rd term ends: 6-30-2026

Dwight Barth

Bismarck, ND

Consumer Member

2nd term ends: 6-30-2025

Daniel Sivak, Secretary

Dickinson, ND

Clinical Laboratory Scientist

2nd term ends:  6-30-2024

Dr. Mark Koponen

Grand Forks, ND

Physician- Pathologist

5th term ends: 6-30-2026

Tom Tupa, Treasurer

Bismarck, ND

Consumer Member

5th term ends: 6-30-2026

Sherry Melby

Kenmare, ND

Clinical Laboratory Technician

5th term ends: 6-30-2024

Christie Massen

Bismarck, ND

Ex Officio

Appointment: 4-28-2017

Contact a Board Member

If you wish to contact a Board member, you must do so by emailing the Board office or submitting written correspondence to the Board’s mailing address:  NDBCLP, PO Box 4103, Bismarck, ND  58502-4103.  The Board staff will ensure the designated Board member(s) receives your correspondence and you will be issued a response in a timely manner.
Page Updated: